Come back.

You’re turning into a stranger, after all this time and everything we’ve been through. 

It’s incredibly difficult to believe. 

The eternal conversations we used to have, to get to know one another because we didn’t make the most of that year we spent “accidentally” bumping into each other in the hallways, grinning wide. What bashful idiots we were. 

Nothing like that happens presently. I never minded giving up my sleep for you. I thought you were always worth the groggy mornings, the clouded mind, the lack of concentration. 

 

And now… You’re kind of cold or you act like it. 

You disappear for days, leaving me hanging, wondering. 

You’re cryptical, it’s gradually becoming harder and harder to read you. 

I miss you but I don’t think you care anymore. I’m the one in charge of caring, I guess. My new part-time job, as if I didn’t have enough already.  

Was it something I said or maybe, something I shouldn’t have said? The second option seems more probable. 

You’re so over me, over us, our friendship. 

I don’t know, I feel lost. 

Talk to me, tell me what I did wrong. I’ll take anything but this polite indifference of yours, which is starting to get on my nerves.

This might be my reward, for being much too honest. I wish I could apologize. 

Or is it that new love of yours? That’s making you blind?